Our most frequently asked questions

The Christmas Market is an initiative of the Communauté Allemande Québec. The market is immersed in an authentic European atmosphere and offers products imported from Germany. You can also find local products; however, the market is proud to offer typical Germany fare and gifts. All of this gives the market its charm. It is a truly unique experience in Québec City.

Yes. What matters is the quality and originality of both the experience and products. Because we are located in Québec City, we are committed to offering local products.
Visit the Christmas Market to enjoy a multi-sensory European experience that is unique to Québec City. Located in a perfect setting, celebrate the holidays in downtown Québec, find great gift ideas and taste amazing comfort food.
Yes, some of the sites are accessible to people with reduced mobility. However, the height of the kiosks is not adapted to people with reduced mobility. Also, people must be careful as the ground may be slightly slippery.
You can; however, we recommend that you leave your four-legged friends at home. As you know, evenings and weekends will be filled with people. The market becomes animated with festivities and celebrations. The sites will be more or less conducive for animals to enjoy themselves.
The market is well-situated near RTC bus stops, which is really practical for people intending to use public transit. Several bus routes (including 1a, 3, 7, 11, 21 and 25) stop in front of the city hall. What’s more: you can find paid parking on the streets that line the market as well as underground parking lots in Old Québec. Warning: these paid parking spaces fill up fast!
Of course! Because the market is located in the heart of Old Québec, you can discover several neighborhoods on foot. Here are some ideas: go skating at Place D’Youville, see a concert at Palais Montcalm, take a horse-drawn carriage ride (calèche), visit the Notre-Dame de Québec Basilica-Cathedral, Holy Trinity Cathedral, Morrin Centre, or Maison de la littérature, take part in a guided history tour with Services historiques Six-Associés, shop on rue Saint-Jean, Petit-Champlain District, visit the Fairmont Château Frontenac, and go tobogganing on Dufferin Terrace.
It’s the German tradition! In Germany, Christmas markets are open during Advent, which starts on the fourth Sunday before Christmas and ends December 24.
Anyone who loves the holidays and Christmas spirit should visit the market! If you live nearby, you’ll want to come back year after year. If you still haven’t visited the market, what are you waiting for? It’s simply magical!

Les réponses aux questions les plus souvent posées.

Parce que le marché est une initiative de la Communauté Allemande Québec. Ici, l’ambiance est authentique comme en Europe et on y trouve des produits importés d’Allemagne. Il y a aussi d’autres produits d’ici, mais le marché est fier de sa saveur typiquement allemande. C’est ce qui fait son charme qui rend son expérience unique à Québec.
Oui. Ce qui compte, c’est la qualité et l’originalité de l’expérience et des produits offerts. Comme nous sommes à Québec, nous tenons à offrir aussi des produits locaux.
Pour vivre une expérience multisensorielle à l’européenne unique à Québec (dans son décor parfait) et profiter de la plus belle ambiance des Fêtes en ville. De plus, vous y trouverez des idées-cadeaux originales et dégusterez de bons produits réconfortants.
Oui. Certaines entrées le sont. À noter que la hauteur des kiosques n’est pas adaptée aux personnes à mobilité réduite et que la surface du sol peut être légèrement glissante.
Oui, mais nous recommandons de laisser toutou à la maison. Comme vous le savez, les soirs et les fins de semaine, le Marché est très animé et l’ambiance est à la fête… ce qui rend les sites moins propices à la présence d’animaux.
Le Marché étant bien situé, des arrêts du RTC sont situés à proximité. C’est pratique. Plusieurs parcours (dont le 1a, 3, 7, 11, 21 et 25) ont un arrêt en face de l’hôtel de ville. De plus, il est possible de trouver un stationnement payant dans les rues qui bordent le Marché ou dans un des stationnements souterrains du Vieux-Québec. Attention! Ces derniers affichent souvent complet.
Absolument. Comme le Marché est situé au cœur du Vieux-Québec, vous vous retrouvez en plein cœur des quartiers à visiter à pied. Voici quelques idées : patiner au Carré d’Youville, assister à un concert au Palais Montcalm, faire un tour de ville en calèche, visiter la basilique-cathédrale Notre-Dame de Québec, la cathédrale Holy Trinity, le Morrin Centre ou la Maison de la littérature, participer à un tour historique guidé avec les Services historiques Six-Associés, magasiner sur la rue Saint-Jean et dans le quartier Petit Champlain, visiter le Château Frontenac et glisser sur la terrasse Dufferin, etc.
Parce que la tradition allemande le veut ainsi. En Allemagne, les marchés sont ouverts pendant la période de l’avent qui commence le 4e dimanche avant Noël et qui se termine le 24 décembre.
À tous ceux qui aiment souligner la fête de Noël. Si vous habitez à proximité, on parie que vous serez heureux de revenir année après année. Vous n’êtes pas encore venu? Qu’est-ce que vous attendez pour vivre la vraie féérie?